Barnstable Election: Schnepp Defeats Two-Term Incumbent Norman

A Cape Cod Times article written on November 7th discusses Barnstable Town Council, and who will succeed Representative Crocker on this council.

Barnstable Election: Schnepp Defeats Two-Term Incumbent Norman

Cape Cod Times

Geoff Spillane

November 7, 2017

Schnepp, Neary, Beedenbender win contested Town Council races.

HYANNIS — Four new members of the Barnstable Town Council will be sworn into office Nov. 20, marking a significant turnover on the 13-member board.

Nearly 9.5 percent, or 3,169 of the town’s 33,527 registered voters, cast ballots in Tuesday’s town election, which featured competitive races in three of the six even-numbered precincts in Barnstable.

Paula Schnepp defeated two-term incumbent councilor John Norman by a vote of 248 to 194 in Precinct 12 in Marstons Mills.

Britt Beedenbender defeated Michael Moynihan, 355 to 154, in Precinct 4 in Centerville to pick up the seat being vacated by Frederick Chirigotis, who reached his term limit restriction.

Elsewhere in Centerville, Paul Neary Jr. defeated Deborah Converse, 351 to 220, in Precinct 6. Neary will succeed state Rep. William Crocker, R-Centerville, who did not seek re-election.

Matthew Levesque cruised to victory unopposed in Precinct 10 in Marstons Mills. Levesque will replace Sara Cushing, the precinct’s incumbent councilor, who did not run for re-election.

Town Council President Eric Steinhilber, of Precinct 2 in Centerville, and Councilor Debra Dagwan, of Precinct 8 in Hyannis, ran unopposed in their bids for re-election.

Members of the Barnstable Town Council receive $8,000 per year, with the vice president earning $10,000 and the president collecting $12,000.

In other uncontested races, Ann Quirk was re-elected town clerk, while Margaret “Margeaux” Weber and Stephanie Ellis were re-elected to four-year terms on the Barnstable School Committee.

Michael Sweeney Jr. and Richard Cross Jr. were unchallenged in their bids for re-election to the Barnstable Housing Authority.

Voters overwhelmingly approved the two questions on the ballot.

Several amendments to the town charter, including appointing rather than electing the town collector and eliminating preliminary town elections, were approved.

The other question, a nonbinding proposal to direct town government to communicate with Gov. Charlie Baker to ensure spent nuclear fuel generated by Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station be placed in secure dry casks and eventually moved to a federal facility, was easily passed by voters.

Read article here.