Cape Leadership Intact as Legislature Begins New 2-Year Session

A article written on January 2nd, 2019 discusses the swearing in of the 191st General Court. All Cape legislators were returned by voters to serve another term on Beacon Hill.

Leadership Intact as Legislature Begins New 2-Year Session

State Representatives from the Cape and Islands at the State House

BOSTON (AP) — Members of the Massachusetts Legislature have been sworn-in to a new two-year term on Beacon Hill.

Republican Gov. Charlie Baker first administered the oath to 40 senators in the ornate Senate chamber that reopened Wednesday for the first time in more than 18 months after undergoing a $20 million renovation.

The governor then presided over the swearing-in of the 160-member House of Representatives.

Democrats control both chambers by wide margins.

In remarks prepared for delivery, Senate President Karen Spilka outlined an ambitious agenda for the session that includes legislation to lower prescription drug costs, expand mental health services and reform the state’s education funding formula.

House Speaker Robert DeLeo, already the longest-serving speaker in state history, was also expected to be re-elected as the top Democrat in the chamber.

Cape Codders returned all of their incumbent House and Senate members during the 2018 elections.

State representatives Tim Whelan (R-Brewster), Will Crocker (R-Centerville), Randy Hunt (R-Sandwich), David Vieira (R-Falmouth), Sarah Peake (D-Provincetown) and Dylan Fernandes (D-Woods Hole) were all sworn in to new terms, along with Cape and Islands State Senator Julian Cyr (D-Truro) and Plymouth/Barnstable State Senator Vinny deMacedo (R-Plymouth).

Read the article here.